Texas Massage License

Texas Massage License

The major of a therapist is quite an interesting, but at the same time a responsible one. It requires much studying, preparation and endeavor. Nonetheless, the rewards are pretty much worth the process.

This career path is worth pursuing in the state of Texas. For that, you will need a license.

Only after looking through the Texas therapy license lookup, you will be able to understand the details of becoming a licensed therapist. In addition to it, this guide provides the information you need.

How do I become a licensed therapist in Texas?

1. Complete a therapy program

In the first place, you should decide the field of therapy you want to pursue. Then, attend a good therapy program.

In Texas, to become a massage therapist, you will need to complete an approved course. The professional program,in fact, must be approved by the Board.

The course should contain at least 500 hours on the following content:

  1. Massage Therapy
  2. Physiology
  3. Kinesiology
  4. Laws and Rules
  5. Business Practices and Professional Ethics
  6. Theory
  7. Technique
  8. Pathology
  9. Hydrotherapy
  10. Health and Hygiene
  11. First Aid

Note that 50 hours of the course should be an internship.

If you are looking for a professional, approved therapy schools, then you can consider the Academy for Massage Therapy Training school or the South Texas Vocational Technical Institute.

2. Pass the therapist examination

The next step after getting the appropriate education is to take and pass the therapist exam.

You should take the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEX). It is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB).

3. Fingerprinting

On the journey of becoming a therapist in Texas, you are to have your fingerprints taken. In the state of Texas, you take your fingerprints only once. However, if you commit any crimes or felonies after the fingerprinting process, they will let the state know about it.

4. Jurisprudence Exam

On the licensing way, you will also need to take a jurisprudence exam. It covers questions on the rules and state regulations related to the therapy practice.

You can register for the jurisprudence exam here. The examination fee is $34.

Pay attention to the fact that you must take the exam within 30 days of registration. If you do not manage to take the test in 30 days, then it will expire and you will have to register and pay the fees again.

5. Submit the application

After completing the above-mentioned steps, you can apply for the therapist license. Click here to apply online.

How much do LPC make in Texas?

The average Licensed Professional Counselor makes about $50 per year.

What can an LPC do in Texas?

As an LPC, you can deliver client-centered therapy. Therapy services that you can practice may include individual, group, marriage, family counseling. The list may also involve chemical dependency counseling, psychotherapy, diagnostic assessment and hypnotherapy.

The cost of obtaining a therapist license in Texas

To become a licensed therapist in the state of Texas, you will have to pay these fixed fees:

  • Application Fee: $100
  • Jurisprudence Exam Fee: $34
  • License Renewal Fee: $75
Seda S

Seda S

Seda has four years of professional experience as a multilingual content writer. She employs SEO principles and rules to come up with original and SEO-friendly articles. Seda also has editing, proofreading, researching, and translating skills, which help to produce better content. She has written a number of articles for a wide range of websites that look for unique and genuine content. She has written targeted content for consumer portions, and she is specialized in writing guest posts, digital marketing, wellness, beauty, and other articles. Furthermore, she has prepared guides and helping materials for websites, which help people seeking licensure in all areas. Seda has also used brand new writing techniques and style based on the article while contributing to readability, accuracy, and tonality.