Any business that conducts tattoo-related work must obtain a Texas tattoo license to lawfully operate within the state. This includes both traditional studios and those that achieve the same result through scarification or permanent cosmetics.
If your salon also does body piercing, you’ll need second permission. Because ear piercing is so prevalent, it is exempt from body piercing laws.
The State Health Services website has an application for a TX license. At the time of writing, the application fee is $927, or $464 for a special event. The latter is only valid for seven days.
Thus, the majority of the license request is standard: your or your company’s name, address, business hours, and website address. You have to also present a written certification from your local government confirming that your location’s zoning code permits a studio. You must submit a new request and pay a second fee if you offer both body piercing and tattooing.
Take note, that your permit is valid for two years and you can renew it. The charge for renewal is the same as the first payment.
You must first submit an application for state-issued permission for that particular site in order to open a tattoo shop. You’ll require a different application if you also perform body piercings. You must first register as an artist with TX and complete aseptic technique and infection control training before you can work in someone else’s studio.
TX requires all artists and body piercers to register. They have to also present proof of an approved training course that includes at least six hours of bloodborne pathogens, infection control, and aseptic tattoo and piercing methods, in addition to the registration request.
For instance, your salon will be inspected by the Drug and Medical Devices Group to ensure that it complies with TX regulations. Along with your other responsibilities, it must be well-maintained and clean:
In Texas, permits are only valid in certain areas. You’ll have to reapply if you relocate your studio to the offices next door or across the street. You’ll need a temporary event license at each new location if you use a mobile salon to attend events.
If you want to start your own business, you have to obtain TX Business Permit as well.
Generally, Texas rules allow the state to deny your permit implementation for a variety of reasons: